NISCAIR Online Periodicals Repository

Research Journals >
Indian Journal of Chemistry -Section B (IJC-B) >
IJC-B Vol.48B [2009] >
IJC-B Vol.48B(02) [February 2009] >

Title: ZrOCl₂ catalyzed Baeyer condensation: A facile and efficient synthesis of triarylmethanes under solvent-free conditions
Authors: Reddy, Ch Sanjeeva
Nagaraj, A
Srinivas, A
Reddy, G Purnachandra
Keywords: ZrOCl₂
Baeyer condensation
Microwave irradiation
Issue Date: Feb-2009
Publisher: CSIR
Abstract: A facile and efficient synthesis of an array of triarylmethanes by the Baeyer condensation of different arylaldehydes carrying activated and deactivated groups and N,N-dimethylaniline using a catalytic amount of ZrOCl₂ under solvent-free microwave irradiation conditions is described. Further, the catalytic activity of ZrOCl₂ is compared with traditional Lewis acid catalysts and found that this synthetic method has the advantages of excellent yields (70-96%), shorter reaction time (few minutes) and solvent-free conditions.
Page(s): 248-254
ISSN: 0376-4699
Source:IJC-B Vol.48B(02) [February 2009]

Files in This Item:

File Description SizeFormat
IJCB 48B(2) 248-254.pdf90.47 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
 Current Page Visits: 97 
Recommend this item


Online Submission of Articles |  NISCAIR Website |  National Knowledge Resources Consortium |  Contact us |  Feedback

Disclaimer: NISCAIR assumes no responsibility for the statements and opinions advanced by contributors. The editorial staff in its work of examining papers received for publication is helped, in an honorary capacity, by many distinguished engineers and scientists.

CC License Except where otherwise noted, the Articles on this site are licensed under Creative Commons License: CC Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 India

Copyright © 2015 The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, New Delhi. All rights reserved.

Powered by DSpace Copyright © 2002-2007 MIT and Hewlett-Packard | Compliant to OAI-PMH V 2.0

Home Page Total Visits: 165583 since 01-Sep-2015  Last updated on 27-Jun-2016Webmaster: